The Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) named 28 student-athletes as James R. Spalding Sportsmanship Award winners, with Southwest Baptist as the overall winner and William Jewell College receiving multiple honors. Truman State University, Quincy University, and University of Missouri-St. Louis were among the other schools recognized.

By the Numbers
  • Truman State won its seventh football sportsmanship award.
  • Southwest Baptist University has earned its first-ever honor as a league member.
State of Play
  • Various schools have been recognized for their sportsmanship across different sports in the GLVC.
  • The award is named after James R. Spalding, a GLVC Hall of Fame inductee known for his contributions to Bellarmine University.
Bottom Line

The GLVC recognizes student-athletes and teams for their sportsmanship, with a focus on honoring James R. Spalding's legacy and contributions to college athletics.