Keisha Newell, head coach of Lewis women's basketball, has been awarded the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association's Collegiate Women's co-Coach of the Year honor for the second consecutive year. As the only NCAA Division II women's coach to be recognized, Newell led the Flyers to a victorious season with a Great Lakes Valley Conference regular-season championship and a program-record 19 conference wins. Her leadership culminated in the team's first GLVC Tournament championship since 2013. The Flyers dominated their conference tournament, winning each game by double digits, before exiting in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

By the Numbers
  • 19 GLVC conference wins
  • 3 double-digit victories in the GLVC Tournament
State of Play
  • Lewis Flyers won their first GLVC title since 2013
  • Several players earned individual honors, including GLVC Tournament MVP for Jenna Badali and second-team All-Midwest Region for Grace Hilber
What's Next

Looking forward, the Lewis Flyers aim to build on their current success, motivated by their recent achievements and recognition. Continued dedication to excellence will be crucial as they prepare for the next season and strive to surpass previous milestones.

Bottom Line

Keisha Newell’s back-to-back IBCA Collegiate Women's co-Coach of the Year honors underscore her effective leadership and the collective effort of Lewis women's basketball team. Their record-setting achievements highlight a strong program poised for future success.