Several college lacrosse programs have faced significant championship droughts, with only a handful dominating the sport's history.

By the Numbers
  • Yale won its first national championship in 2018 in the NCAA era, followed by Notre Dame in 2023 and a repeat in 2024.
  • Denver claimed a title in 2015, introducing three new champions in the past decade.
  • Since 2017, only 12 programs have won a national title, and 16 programs have appeared in the championship game, with eight holding more than one title.
Yes, But

Some programs like Cornell, Princeton, Johns Hopkins, Syracuse, and Loyola have experienced extended droughts in securing a national title.

State of Play
  • Cornell holds the longest active title drought at 47 years, with their last championship game appearance in 2022.
  • Princeton follows with a 23-year drought since their last title in 2001.
What's Next

These programs will continue to strive for national titles, aiming to break their respective droughts and join the elite club of multiple champions.

Bottom Line

While certain college lacrosse programs have a rich championship history, others are currently enduring prolonged droughts, highlighting the competitive nature and historic achievements in the sport.