The 2013-Devils Women's Basketball team from Fairleigh Dickinson University commemorated the tenth anniversary of their historic National Championship win, achieving a perfect 33-0 season and securing the first and only National Championship trophy in the university's athletics history. Led by Head Coach Marc Mitchell, the team triumphed in the NCAA playoffs, culminating in an 80-72 victory over Whitman College in the National Championship game.

The Big Picture

The story reflects on the enduring impact of the 2013-14 women's basketball team's historic achievement on the current program at Fairleigh Dickinson University, serving as a beacon of inspiration.

By the Numbers
  • The team completed a perfect 33-0 season.
  • Kyra Dayon (BA '15) received MAC Freedom and Mid Atlantic Region Player of the Year honors.
  • Coach Marc Mitchell was named National, Regional, Metropolitan Writers, and MAC Conference Coach of the Year.
State of Play
  • The 2013-14 team returned to campus to celebrate their tenth anniversary in December 2023.
  • The current Head Women's Basketball Coach, Van Johnson, aims to return the program to Championship caliber, drawing inspiration from the past team's success.
What's Next

Coach Johnson is focused on building the women's basketball program back to NCAA tournament competitiveness, taking inspiration from the achievements of the 2013-14 team and aiming to recreate their success brick-by-brick.

Bottom Line

The ten-year anniversary celebration of the 2013-Devils Women's Basketball National Championship win serves as a timeless reminder of greatness, inspiring current and future generations to strive for excellence in the sport.