Your Teams.
All Sources.

Build your feed

© 2024 BVM Sports. Best Version Media, LLC.

No results found.
Stetson Bennett could join rare group of oldest Heisman winners
Georgia quarterback Stetson Bennett could become one of oldest Heisman Trophy winners. (Credit: Dale Zanine-USA TODAY Sports)

Stetson Bennett could join rare group of oldest Heisman winners

ATHENS, Ga. (BVM) – The finalists for the 2022 Heisman Trophy were revealed following conference championship weekend and four quarterbacks found themselves with a chance to win the award. Led by USC’s Caleb Williams, Ohio State’s CJ Stroud, TCU’s Max Duggan, and Georgia’s Stetson Bennett, the Heisman Trophy Ceremony will crown one of the nation’s top signal-callers. All but Williams will be featured in the College Football Playoff.

Bennett, who recently turned 25, would become one of the oldest players to win the award if he earns the selection on Dec. 10. The Bulldogs quarterback’s age came into conversation recently as college football spectators compared the Georgia standout to the youngest winner of the trophy, Lamar Jackson, who shares the same birth year of the current Heisman candidate.

Jackson, who won the award at 19, is now in his fifth NFL season and has already locked down an NFL MVP and two trips to the Pro Bowl. While Bennett participates in his now-sixth collegiate season, the Georgia quarterback has a chance to join some rare territory. Only five Heisman winners ever have won the award at the age of 22 or older. Based on the arrival of the AP Poll back in 1968, the “modern era” of college football has only seen two above the age group win it.

With a chance for Bennett to add his name to the list, here’s a look at the current five winners that were at or over the age of 22.